Born in Michigan, but living and working in Belgium for the past 22 years, Bruce Richards blends various schools of playing. Having studied with Neill Sanders, Johnny Pherigo and most importantly of all Francis Orval,  Mr. Richards brings a diverse range of musical traditions to bear in his playing and teaching.  It is this link with one of Belgium's most famous musicians that took him to Belgium where he now makes his home.  Since 1991 he has been Co-Principal Horn with the Liège Royal Philharmonic.  In 2011 he became Professor of Horn at the Liège Royal Conservatory.

10402940 10206356899616705 2872307783489268163 n.jpg

Mr. Richards also performs as Principal Horn with the Ictus Ensemble in Brussels specializing in contemporary music.  He also performs with brass ensembles such as the Brass Label Brass Quintet and New Brass Directions.  As a member of the Liège Horn Quartet he performed as a Guest Artist in Banff, Canada and Kalamazoo, Michigan at their respective IHS Symposiums in 1998 & 2001.  Bruce peformed as a contributing artist at the IHS 45 Symposium in Memphis 2013.  A performance on Wagner Tuba celebrating the composer's 200th birthday.  Bruce performs regularly with Belgian chamber ensembles such as; Het Collectief and I Solisti del Vento.

Bruce is an active arranger and transcriber for brass quintet, brass ensemble and horn quartet.  He has given Master Classes in chamber music, horn quartet playing and horn playing in general.  In association with his post as Professor of Horn in Liège Bruce has taken on the challenge of a new summer music course in Spa, Belgium:  “Stage International de Musique en Province de Liège”.  This brings together highly developed young horn players eager to broaden their skills and horizons. 

Follow me on Facebook

© Bruce Richards 2012-2015